Skip to content ↓


Mission statement

“I have come that you may have life and have it in abundance”

John 10:10

PSHEE (Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education) develops the qualities and attributes that pupils need to thrive as individuals, family members and members of society. We will equip pupils to live healthy, safe, productive, capable, responsible and balanced lives.

Curriculum map

Curriculum intent - what we teach and why we teach it

Our curriculum covers three core themes:

  • Physical and Mental Health
  • Relationships and Sex Education
  • Living in the Wider World (including British Values and Careers)

The full range of topics covered is available here: Pupil Personal Development pathway

PSHEE is studied during one hour sessions which run once a week and include all members of the teaching staff.

Each session provides students with opportunities to turn knowledge into personal understanding, explore (and if necessary challenge) their own and others’ values, attitudes, beliefs, rights and responsibilities, as well as strategies to live balanced lives, and develop positive personal attributes.

Our PSHEE curriculum includes RSE (Relationships and Sex Education) which aims to:

  • be faithful to the Church's vision of human wholeness whilst recognising the contemporary context in which we live today
  • provide a positive view of human sexuality and dignity of the human person
  • equip young people with the ability to make practical judgements about the right thing to do in particular circumstances
  • explore and promote virtues which are essential to promoting respect and dignity
  • be delivered in an age-appropriate way which reflects the development of the child
  • be sensitive to the needs of the individual pupil and recognise the mix of pupils with different sexual orientations, genders and family backgrounds in each class
  • be delivered by competent professionals who understand the Church's teaching (RE teaching staff).

As well as our PSHEE curriculum, we provide a programme of activities for pupils to continue to explore and expand their interests, including a wide range of clubs, leadership opportunities, Cultural Capital Days, and events across all schools in the St Francis of Assisi Catholic Academy Trust.

Short summary for each year group divided into key stages

Key Stage 3:

pupils build on the skills, attitudes, values, knowledge and understanding they have acquired and developed during the primary phase. PSHE education acknowledges and addresses the changes that young people are experiencing, beginning with transition to secondary school, the challenges of adolescence and their increasing independence.

Examples of topics covered:

Year 7: Types of Relationships, Family, Friendships, Using the Library

Year 8: Bereavement & Loss, Personal Safety, Balanced Diets, Substance Misuse

Year 9: Violent crime & gangs, GCSE Options, Importance of Marriage, Young People and the Media

Key Stage 4:

pupils extend and rehearse their skills, further explore attitudes and values, and deepen knowledge and understanding acquired during Key Stage 3. PSHE education reflects the fact that learners are moving towards an independent role in adult life, taking on greater responsibility for themselves and others.

Examples of topics covered:

Year 10: Committee Relationships, Teenage Pregnancy, Equal Relationships, Common Mental Health Issues

Year 11: Mock interviews, exam preparation

Key Stage 5:

Topics covered during Year 12 and 13 allow our students to discover and explore the opportunities that await them as they prepare to move onto Higher Education or the world of work. Some examples include:

Year 12: UCAS & Apprenticeships, Duke of Edinburgh Award, Sexism, Texting & Driving

Year 13: UCAS & Next Steps, Student Finance, Study Skills, Alcohol, Workplace Bullying

How are they being assessed in each key stage (can be linked documents.) For KS3,4 and 5


Link to resources

Pupil Personal Development Opportunities

Student voice